In This Life

I've been to paradise, but I've never been to me.

Moonnight

Leave a comment

  Happy Mid-Autumn Day!
  Today is Mid-Autumn Day, one of the traditional Chinese Festivals. According to the traditional custom, every family sit together in the moonnight. People eat mooncakes as they come out to watch the full moon. It’s a very day of family reunion. In China we cherish it very much.
  However, as time goes by, people, especially the youth, seem to pay less attention to the celebration. It’s not indispensable any more. And the fast paced life doesn’t give us much spare time to celebrate it. Except the mooncake economy, I can’t find any meaning else. What impresses me most is the high price of mooncake. Honestly, I hate this very much. It is just a hype.
  Now I’m far away from home. What else would I do? No mooncakes, no celebration. And it’s difficult to see the moon clearly in urban Beijing. Only neon lights and clouds meet my eyes. So I choose to stay at the dormitory rather than go out. I choose to be alone.
  It’s the last Mid-Autumn Day at university. When the next Mid-Autumn Day comes, where will I be?

Author: jleecute

a native Chinese man who wants to know the world better -------- We can cure physical diseases with medicine, but the only cure for loneliness, despair, and hopeless is love. There are many in the world who are dying for a piece of bread, but there are many more dying for a little love.

Leave a Reply

