In This Life

I've been to paradise, but I've never been to me.

The NCEEs

Leave a comment

 

   What is NCEEs?
   NCEEs stands for National College Entrance Exams. The college entrance exams have long been regarded as the factor determining a student’s future. No wonder it touches a nerve with everyone involved.
   Examination season has been coming up in China!
   This year, a record 10.1 million students have applied to take the exam, but only 5.67 million will be able to enter colleges. 10.1 million people can compose a country! That is to say, competition among students is still very cruel.
    In 1977, National College Entrance Exams were restored after the 10-year Cultural Revolution. The entrance exam — commonly known as "gaokao" in Chinese — is credited as the backbone of China’s remarkable reform-era growth in the 30 years since it was restored. Although many criticize that it encourages rote learning and puts too much pressure on overburdened adolescents.
    But what can government do? Till now, we can’t find a better exam system to determine who enters college and who can’t. In such an unfair society, the "gaokao" system is the best choice for everyone, especially those who need a profound turning point in their life.
    For students form poor families, "gaokao" is their best chance to climb the social ladder in an increasingly stratified country with widening rich-poor and urban-rural gaps. They are told to study hard and getting into a university is the way out. But that way out is only for the lucky few. Many of young generation have to earn their own living after graduating from middle school. They continue poor and dull life like their parents.
    Unfortunately, they have no better choice.
    I still remember the days three years ago when I took the exams. Cold sweat, shaky hands, sleepless nights… I contributed my whole body to the preparation of exams in June, with my heart and soul. I burdened too much pains and pressure. My bright future was completely relied on those two days — June 7th & 8th.
   It’s not bad that I succeeded at last.
   Now I’m learning accounting in one of the most famous universities in China. I know clear that I’m the lucky one. Every time when I want to slack off, I tell myself that truth. So I work hard.
   Bless for students trapped in the exams and their parents. Best wishes for you.

Author: jleecute

a native Chinese man who wants to know the world better -------- We can cure physical diseases with medicine, but the only cure for loneliness, despair, and hopeless is love. There are many in the world who are dying for a piece of bread, but there are many more dying for a little love.

Leave a Reply

