In This Life

I've been to paradise, but I've never been to me.

Like a Child

Leave a comment

    Chinese people like festivals very much. Today is Children’s Day. However, it involves everyone, not only children and their parents. People even send short messages by saying Happy Children’s Day to each other. And they think that’s funny. Although knowing that they are not children any more, they still want to talk about this. They just want to be like a child.
    So how old are you?
    I’m nearly twenty-two years old. My childhood has left me long before. Never back again. What I can do at present is trying to remember more stories. My childhood was not free or happy. Parents kept a strict hand over me. Luxurious life, freewheeling play, etc., those what other children easily owned were never close to me. Every day a vesture of study accompanied me. I didn’t have much time to enjoy my childlike innocence. That’s simply torture. I learned much, while suffering much. Without a feeling of happiness, I appreciate those days all the same.
    Growing up day by day, I still yearn for that period, a light-hearted period. Unfortunately, I can’t reverse the time.
    Human beings sometimes are very silly. They forget the fact that time has to move forward.
    When someone is a child, he wants to be an adult. But when someone is already an adult, he misses his childhood very much. These two wishes can’t come true. Then regrets linger in his whole life. How miserable it is!
    Now I have a lot of free time of my own. Parents also give me more self-determination. But I couldn’t go back to those years. Everything is changing. I’m aware that I couldn’t be like a child any more. Even if one minute.
    Those childish memories often recur to me, whereas I could do nothing. I remind of myself ceaselessly that: Like a child, it’s my lifetime dream.
    Anyway, Happy Children’s Day to my little friends.
Author: jleecute

a native Chinese man who wants to know the world better -------- We can cure physical diseases with medicine, but the only cure for loneliness, despair, and hopeless is love. There are many in the world who are dying for a piece of bread, but there are many more dying for a little love.

Leave a Reply

